DUI/DWI in Manchester New Hampshire
A DWI means “Driving While Intoxicated” or “Driving While Impaired” and refers to the act of driving while drunk or on drugs. A DUI refers to “Driving Under the Influence.” These essentially mean the same thing in New Hampshire.
A driver can be guilty of DUI in New Hampshire in two ways. One is if the driver is operating a motor vehicle on a public road while under the influence of alcohol, a controlled drug, a prescription drug, an over-the-counter drug, or any other substance. The other way is if the driver’s blood alcohol content shows to have at least .08 BAC or .02 BAC in drivers under the age of 21.
What are the penalties for DWI In Manchester New Hampshire?
The mandatory penalties for DWI-1st offense in New Hampshire are a minimum fine of $500.00, and maximum of $1200.00, with additional 20-24% in penalty assessment. There is also a mandatory minimum license loss of 9 months, which may be reduced to as little as ninety days based on conditions. Maximum license loss would be two years.
Penalties largely depend on whether the driver has any prior convictions, or if there are certain aggravating factors at play.
An aggravating factor would be:
– driver’s blood alcohol content of .16 BAC or greater
– accident or injury as a result of DWI
The penalty calculations are complex and account for many different factors that determine the level of the offense, the maximum possible punishment, and the mandatory minimum punishment.
In addition to the loss of license that the judge could impose, if a driver refused a breathalyzer or blood test, or the test shows a BAC of .08 or higher (.02 or higher for drivers under the age of 21), the DMV will impose an additional loss of license called an administrative license suspension. Unlike the judge-imposed loss of license, this administrative license suspension normally starts 30 days after the arrest. The driver has the right to file for challenge of that suspension within those 30 days, but if they fail to do so, that right is waived.
Call a lawyer today
If you were charged with a DUI or DWI in New Hampshire, don’t hesitate to reach out to our dui lawyers at Shaunna L. Browne, PLLC. We will represent you in court, make sure you know your rights and receive the minimal possible punishment. Please call us with any questions, as we offer a free consultation.